Black Theatre Live


Asian Media Awards 2017 Nominations

25 September 2017

​Check out the final arts and entertainment nominees from across the media and creative industries for the 2017 Asian Media Awards


Journalist of the Year

  • Tazeen Ahmad
  • Tufayel Ahmed
  • Shekhar Bhatia
  • Nelufar Hedayat
  • Tanveer Mann
  • Kavita Puri

Best Investigation

  • Camber Sands Investigation –  ITV Meridian
  • Halala: The Men Who Sell Divorce – BBC Asian Network and Victoria Derbyshire Programme
  • Islam’s Non-Believers – Deeyah Khan, Fuuse Films for ITV Exposure
  • Racist Britain: Bushra Siddiq for Channel 4 Dispatches
  • The Sikhs of Smethwick –  Billy Dosanjh for BBC Four
  • The Traffickers – Nelufar Hedayat for Lightbox Media Ltd for Fusion

Regional Journalist of the Year

  • Anila Dhami, ITV Tyne Tees
  • Audrey Dias, BBC Midlands Today
  • Navtej Johal, BBC East Midlands
  • Rajiv Popat, ITV Central

Outstanding Young Journalist

  • Arandeep Singh Dhillon, Warrington Guardian
  • Shehab Khan, The Independent
  • Shehnaz Khan, Writer and Journalist
  • Monika Plaha, BBC Breakfast
  • Inzamam Rashid, BBC News

TV Report of the Year

  • Charity (Bhaarat Welfare Trust) –  Sumeer Kalyani for BBC East Midlands Today
  • Disability Dating –  By Anisa Kadri for BBC Asian Network and BBC World
  • Former Members of Banned Terror Group Meet at Far-Right Training Camp  – By Rohit Kachroo for ITV News
  • India’s Partition 70 years on: ‘I killed a man’ – By Secunder Kermani for BBC
  • Male Honour Abuse – By Katie Razzall, Producer: Yasminara Khan for BBC Newsnight
  • Teesside: Can Locals and Asylum Seekers Get Along? – By Assed Baig for Channel Four


Publication of the Year

  • Asian Express
  • Asian Wealth Magazine
  • Eastern Eye
  • The Asian Today


Best Website


Best Blog

  • British Bindi
  • Halal Girl About Town
  • Fashionicide
  • StylmK
  • Taran Bassi

Best Video Channel

  • Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October


Radio Station of the Year

  • BBC Asian Network
  • Sunrise Radio

Regional Radio Station of the Year

  • Asian Star Radio 106FM
  • Fever 107.3FM
  • Sabras Radio
  • Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year

  • Anushka Arora, Sunrise Radio
  • Bobby Friction, BBC Asian Network
  • Yasmeen Khan, Talk Radio and BBC Three Counties
  • Kavita Kukar, Sino Radio
  • Nihal, BBC Asian Network and 909 Five Live
  • Paul Shah, Sunrise Radio

Best Radio Show

  • The Breakfast Show with Raj and Sonia, Sunrise Radio
  • Drive Time with DJ Haashim, Asian Star Radio 106FM
  • Mawaan and Emily, BBC Asian Network
  • Panjabi Hit Squad, BBC Asian Network
  • Shivi Hotwani, Lyca Radio
  • The Guz Khan Show, BBC Asian Network


Best TV Programme/Show

  • Ackley Bridge
  • My Family, Partition and Me: India 1947
  • Muslims Like Us
  • The Selfless Sikh: Faith on the Front Line
  • Three Girls

TV Channel of the Year

  • Brit Asia TV
  • Colors
  • Star Plus
  • Sony Entertainment Television Asia

Best TV Character

  • Asim Chaudhry as Chabuddy G in People Just do Nothing
  • Bhavna Limbachia for Rana Nazir in Coronation Street
  • Adil Ray as Sadiq Nawaz in Ackley Bridge
  • Indira Varma as DS Nina Suresh in Paranoia


Best Stage Production

  • Anita and Me – Adapted by Tanika Gupta; Directed by Roxana Silbert; Based on the book by Meera Syal. The Touring Consortium Theatre Company and Birmingham Repertory Theatre
  • Combustion – Written and Co-Produced by Asif Khan (AIK productions); Co-Producer: Jonathan Kennedy (Tara Arts); Directed by: Nona Shepphard; Designed by Mila Sanders Featuring: Mitesh Soni; Nigel Hastings; Shireen Farkhoy; Rez Kempton; Beruce Khan
  • Miss Meena and the Masala Queens – Artistic Director Pravesh Kumar; Written by Harvey Virdi, Featuring: Ali Ariaie; Harvey Dhadda; Raj Ghatak. Rifco Arts and Watford Palace Theatre
  • Mother Tongues from Farther Lands – Written and Directed by: Sajeela Kershi; Produced by Dawinder Bansal. Featuring: Shobna Gulati, Shobu Kapoor, Shyama Pereira. (Ayesha Haziriks replaced Shyama at Southbank show); Set design by Shanaz Gulzaar. Commission from Southbank centre in partnership with Alchemy national partners: Black Country touring, cast Doncaster, and Oldham Coliseum Theatre. Working with regional South Asian women’s groups throughout its creation
  • Sukanya: An Opera by Ravi Shankar – Directed by Suba Das; Conducted by David Murphy. Featuring: Susanna Hurrell, Alok Kumar, Keel Watson, Michel de Souza, Njabulo Madlala. London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Opera House and Curve Theatre

Best Live Event

  • BBC Asian Network Comedy
  • Magic Lantern Festival
  • Partition 70 Years On


Media Agency of the Year

  • Alliance Advertising and Marketing
  • Ethnic Reach
  • Media Hive
  • Oceanic Consulting
  • Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year

  • Arika Murtza
  • Govind Shahi
  • Sunny Suri

Creative Media Award

  • All Zee No Fee Campaign
  • Finding Fatimah Movie Campaign
  • ‘I Am Yazidi’ Exhibition Campaign
  • KA Media
  • RIA Money Transfer Campaign


AMA Best Newcomer

  • Nisha Aaliya
  • Bhavin Bhatt
  • Anthony Sahota

Media Personality of the Year

  • Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film Award

  • Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

  • Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

Winners and recipients of AMA special awards will be announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Wednesday 25 October.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Anand and Ambreen Razia.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training & Primesight.

The official Charity Partners for 2017 are Sightsavers.

The event is also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages, AMT Lawyers, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Supreme Dream Events, Payal and Cleartwo.